Critical Reflection

The 13 weeks of lessons had been fun and fulfilling. Each presentation and sharing sessions in class has definitely helped me with my presentation skills. My greatest takeaway from the module was to be chosen to present on our communication issue project. It was an honor to be given a chance to present and share my project work with everyone in the course, as well as the industry partners from Suntec.

It was also all thanks to CPD II that I got to experience writing and updating a blog consistently for the first time. These blogging activities have definitely allowed me to learn and reflect more on the lessons weekly. The most memorable and related lesson to me was on ‘Thomas-Kilmann Conflict Mode Instrument’.

With communication being the bread and butter of interaction between human in our everyday lives, there is no doubt that we would often experience conflicting ideas in communication. Sometimes, we would often let our emotions get the better of us, which would more often than not led to an unpleasant situation.

With the ‘Thomas-Kilmann Conflict Mode Instrument’, I was not only able to understand the different methods of handling conflict, and also identify signs of a person’s ‘conflict mode’. I find this very helpful because it helped me understand better, and also know of how to deal with the different conflict modes. This can definitely helped me in dealing with possible conflicts or tension caused by communication next time, not only at my workplace, but also in life.

Apart from that, another memorable and related takeaway from class would be the importance of non-verbal communication. While many of us would realize that words are often a ‘deadly weapon’ that can hurt others (and possibly lead to a conflict), non-verbal cues are equally significant as well. Non-verbal cues such as your posture, your behavior, or even your expressions, help form impressions of you for others and first impressions usually last longer. As such, it had reminded me of the importance of non-verbal communication.

With these valuable takeaway, I believe that I will be able to apply them in my everyday life and practice a healthier communication method with people around me. The upcoming IWSP would be a good start for me to put what I have learnt in class into action, and I hope that it will allow me to gain a good experience out of it.

2 thoughts on “Critical Reflection

  1. Dear ZhiXin,

    Thank you for this highly detailed, heartfelt reflection on the CPDII module’s research project. I’m happy that you found it and the component parts useful in so many ways.

    It warms my heart, in particular, that you feel you gained so much from the presentation(s) you did and also that the blogging was something you felt positive about. Of course, I do hope you can transfer some of the skills and know-how learned or polished in our module to your future study and the workplace.

    I also especially appreciate your many contributions to the class during the term, ZhiXin; and I’m thankful that you and your teammates were so willing to participate in the presentation showcase.

    Finally, you always brought such a warmth and energy to the activities assigned in class. Having students like you makes teaching/mentoring a true pleasure.

    All the best as you continue your learning journey!

    Brad

    Like

Leave a Reply

